There is now an explicit “Delete Bookmark” button in the edit modal:
A confirmation is shown before deleting
Along with this, when the bookmarked post icon is clicked the modal is now shown instead of just deleting the bookmark. Also, the “Delete Bookmark” button from the user bookmark list now confirms the action.
d d shortcut in the modal to delete the bookmark.